‘Tis the season of holiday gift guides, and this year I have enough published client books (plus Chicken) to participate. (Huzzah! Also, publishing is slow.)

Hopefully there’s something here for the young reader on your list! And if not, I’d love to know in the comments if there’s something that you think the market is missing. I recently had a hard time finding basketball picture books, which had me a bit surprised!

For toddlers and emerging readers:

“A surprising gem.” – Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

“…an enjoyable read-aloud [with] opportunities for new readers, and those sounding out their first words, to find success.” – The Horn Book

For picture book readers working hard to master a new skill:

“An extra-tasty book for bao lovers everywhere.” – Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

A fin-tastic tale to sink your teeth into!

For fans of Fancy Nancy and Pinkalicious:

“A fun read for fans of dress up and readers with a flair for the dramatic.” – School Library Journal

“[A] clever exploration of the mixed emotions of welcoming a new baby into a family” – Kirkus Reviews

For picture books with clever tricksters:

“Illustrations in this upbeat offering are lush and playful. Readers will enjoy searching for Chameleon in each of the photos, especially when he begins changing colors to blend in with his surroundings.” – Kirkus Reviews

“Chua’s cartoon barnyard is bright, and her animals, expressive…a fun visit to a mixed-up barnyard.” – Kirkus Reviews

For young readers dealing with grief or an ill family member:

“A thoughtful story that artfully addresses the loss of a grandparent from an immigrant perspective.”  – Kirkus Reviews

“[A] thoughtful glimpse into the life of an immigrant family, and despite the refreshingly straightforward look at cancer and the struggle of having a loved one undergo treatment, the narrative retains its slice-of-life focus.” – Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

Celebrations of friends and family:

“This appealing historical middle-grade novel is perfect for fans of beloved baseball-centered novels like Linda Sue Park’s Keeping Score…A sweet debut about friendship and the love of the game.” – Booklist

“Jaunty rhymes and warm, generous family activities mark the beginning of Diwali, the Hindu festival of lights, in this picture book that’s designed to fill young eyes with wonder.” – Foreward Reviews

Chicken Wants a Nap by Tracy Marchini

"A surprising gem." -- Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

Chicken Wants a Nap is available at Amazon, Barnes & NobleTarget and your favorite independent bookstore!

Join the Quacktory

Sign up to receive a monthly update from the Quacktory, including exclusive information about my books and giveaways!

Join Now!

You have Successfully Subscribed!